Dhaka | Thursday, September 16, 2021


Farida elected first Jatiya Press Club Female President,Elias Khan, general secretary

2021-01-01 01:16:31 BdST

2021-09-16 21:08:58 BdST

Published: 2021-01-01 01:16:31 BdST


Elias Khan of daily Amar Desh was elected general secretary of the JPC management committee for the 2021-22 tenure.

Farida Yasmin bagged 581 votes while her rival candidate Kamal Uddin Sabuj got 395 votes. She was the general secretary of the outgoing committee.

Elias Khan secured 566 votes while Omar Farroque 393 votes for the general secretary post.
Poet Hasan Hafiz was elected senior vice present (413) andRezwanul Haque Raza (615) vice president.
The other office bearers of the 17-member JPC executive committee are -- Joint Secretaries Mainul Alam, (577) and M Ashraf Ali (395), Treasurer Shahed Chowdhury (706).

The 10 members are -- Ayub Bhuiyan, (544), Rezanur Rahman (474), Quazi Rownaq Hossain (455), Jahiduzzaman Farroque (443), Shahnaz Begum Poly (430),

Syed Abdal Ahmed (421), Shahnaj Siddiqui Shoma, (420), Banu Ranjan Chakraborty (411), Rahman Mostafiz, (379) and Bakhtiar Rana 367

Earlier, voting in the Jatiya Press Club election was held from 9am to 5pm without any break where 998 voters out of 1,151 exercised their franchise.

After the vote count, chief election commissioner Mosafa-E-Jamil announced the results around 8pm.

Dhaka, 31 December (campuslive24.com)//AIT


Share Your Valuable Comments: