Dhaka Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Dhaka suggests engaging foreign civilian observers for Rohingya

2020-09-12 15:23:12 BdST

2020-09-30 15:19:50 BdST

Published: 2020-09-12 15:23:12 BdST

Live Correspondent: Dhaka today suggested Myanmar to engage non-military civilian observers from its friendly countries in Rohingya repatriation process to reduce trust deficit among the forcibly displaced people for returning to their land of origin in Rakhine with safety and security.

“In order to decline trust deficit and build confidence, we suggested Myanmar to engage non-military civilian observers from their friendly country like ASEAN, China, Russia, India or other friends of their choice,” he said.

Momen said the deployment of foreign civilian observers “may lessen trust deficit for a sustainable return” while Rohingyas are not returning to their homeland primarily as they do not trust their government about safety and security.

He was addressing the virtual ministerial meeting of “27th ASEAN Association of Southeast Asian Nations) Regional Forum (ARF)”, presided over by Vietnam Deputy Prime Minister Pham Binh Minh as the ARF Chair.

Bangladesh foreign minister sought support from ARF partners so that the hapless Rohingyas can return to their home in safety, security and dignity, resettle there, and reintegrate in their society.

“If this problem is not solved quickly, it may lead to pockets of radicalism and since terrorists have no borders, no faith, there’s a high possibility of creation of uncertainty in the region which may frustrate our hope for a peaceful, secure and stable region,” Momen expressed his fear.

“But unfortunately, till today, none went back and instead of creating conducive environment, fighting and shelling is ongoing in the Rakhaine state,” he said.

Despite the threat to its economy, ecology, and overall societal impact, he said Bangladesh gave shelter, on a humanitarian ground, to nearly 1.1 million persecuted people fleeing massacre in Myanmar, their homeland.

About the pandemic situation, the foreign minister said “once vaccine is developed, it must be available to all without discrimination”.

It comprises 27 members: the 10 ASEAN member states – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam; the 10 ASEAN dialogue partners – Australia, Canada, China, the European Union, India, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, Russia and the United States; Bangladesh, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Mongolia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Timor-Leste; and one ASEAN observer – Papua New Guinea.


Dhaka, 12 September (campuslive24.com)//MI


Share Your Valuable Comments: