AL finalizes candidates for Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

2020-10-18 02:24:17 BdST

2021-06-20 03:13:05 BdST

Published: 2020-10-18 02:24:17 BdST


Live Correspondent: The Awami League (AL) on Monday has finalized the party candidates for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies in the upcoming by-elections. They are Monirul Islam Manu for Dhaka-5 constituency and Md. Anwar Hossain Helal for Naogaon-6 constituency.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced their names at an online press briefing from his residence in the capital.

By-elections to the two parliamentary constituencies will be held on October 17, according to a schedule declared by the Election Commission.

As per the schedule the deadline for submission of nomination papers is September 17, the date for scrutiny of nomination papers is September 20 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is September 27.

The by-elections will be held from 9:00am to 5:00pm through electronic voting machines (EVMs) instead of traditional ballot papers.

The Dhaka regional election officer and Naogaon district election officer will act as returning officers for Dhaka-5 and Noagaon-6 by-elections respectively.

The Dhaka-5 seat fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Habibur Rahman Mollah on May 6 while the Nagaon-6 constituency became vacant after the demise of ruling party lawmaker Israfil Alam on July 27.

Dhaka,17 October (


Share Your Valuable Comments: