Dhaka | Saturday, October 23, 2021


Joytu Sheikh Hasina Int'l Grandmasters Chess concludes

2021-09-28 16:39:58 BdST

2021-10-23 11:35:35 BdST

Published: 2021-09-28 16:39:58 BdST


Live Correspondent: Joytu Sheikh Hasina International Grandmasters Chess Tournament 2021, jointly organised by Bangladesh Chess Federation and Canadian University, ended with colourful prize distribution and closing function at a city hotel in the capital on Monday.

The competition was organised to mark the 75th birth anniversary of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Indian IM Sankalp Gupta became unbeaten champions with 7 points from 9 rounds. The champions was awarded USD 4,000.

Five players earned 6.5 points each, but Indian IM Mitrava Guha finished runners-up and IM Aronyak Ghosh third in a tie-breaker. Mitrava and Aronyak were awarded USD 2,500 and 1500 respectively.

Bangladesh’s GM Ziaur Rahman, who also earned 6.5 points, ended fifth, the highest among Bangladeshi participants. Zia, along with five other ranked players, got USD 1000 each.

Apart from them, five other Bangladeshi chess players were awarded special prizes -- GM Enamul Hossain Razib got USD 700, FM Sheikh Nasir Ahmed USD 500, FM Debaraj Chatterjee USD 400, IM Abu Sufian Shakil and FM Md Taibur Rahman USD 200 each.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud distributed prizes among the winners as the chief guest while State Minister for Youth and Sports Zahid Ahsan Russel was present as the special guest on the occasion. 

Meanwhile, a total of 62 chess players including grandmasters, international masters and international women’s masters from different countries including Bangladesh participated in the 9-day event.

Dhaka, 28 September (campuslive24.com)//BIT


Share Your Valuable Comments: